Annual John H. Glenn Lecture: 40th Anniversary of Apollo 11

•July 20, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Alan Bean – former Apollo astronaut – has paintings on exhibit in the National Air & Space Museum

•July 20, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Former Apollo astronaut Alan Bean (Apollo 12) has some of his paintings on exhibit currently in the National Air & Space Museum (NASM) in Washington, D.C.

I did a multi-part phone interview with Alan Bean previously. You can listen to him answer my questions.  Part one starts here.

The NASM exhibit is titled:  Alan Bean: Painting Apollo, First Artist on Another World.

Alan Bean Portrait

Alan Bean in front of his painting easel at his art studio in Houston, October 14, 2008.

Image Number: WEB11163-2009
Credit: Photo by Carolyn Russo/NASM, National Air and Space Museum, Smithsonian Institution

The NASM says the following about the exhibit:

Forty years ago, the Moon received its first human visitors. On July 20, 1969, the Apollo 11 lunar module Eagle landed, and Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin walked on the lunar surface. To celebrate this 40th anniversary, this exhibition presents a view of the Apollo journeys through the eyes of the first artist to visit another world.

Alan Bean became the fourth man to walk on the Moon during Apollo 12 in 1969. After 18 years as an astronaut, he resigned from NASA in 1981 to dedicate his life to the art of painting his memories of Apollo.

Employing an impressionistic style, Bean captures the spirit of Apollo with lunar landscapes, portraits of fellow moonwalkers, and views of Earth from space. His works offer glimpses of a world on which only he and 11 others have walked.

Displaying both art and artifacts, this exhibition weaves the technology of one of humankind’s greatest achievements with an artist’s firsthand account of a new frontier.

This exhibition is on view in Gallery 211

STS-127 Day six – planned activities

•July 20, 2009 • Leave a Comment

10:33 GMT (6:33 am EDT) – Endeavour / ISS Crew Wake Up
11:13 GMT (7:13 am EDT) – EVA #2 Preparations Resume
15:28 GMT (11:28 am EDT) – EVA #2 Begins (Wolf & Marshburn)
15:58 GMT (11:58 am EDT) – ICC ORU (SGANT, PM, LDU) Transfers To ESP-3 Begin; Fixed Grapple Bar Relocate From ESP-2 To P1 ATA
20:18 GMT (4:18 pm EDT) – JEF Forward Camera Installation
21:58 GMT (5:58 pm EDT) – EVA #2 Ends
1:33 GMT (9:33 pm EDT) – ISS Crew Sleep Begins
2:03 GMT (10:03 pm EDT) – Endeavour Crew Sleep Begins

Source

July 20, 1999 – Liberty Bell 7 capsule is raised from the ocean

•July 20, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Gus Grissom, a native of Mitchell, Indiana, became just the second American to reach space on July 22, 1961. He was born April 3, 1926, and perished with two colleagues on the launch test-pad on January 27, 1967. His Mercury capsule, Liberty Bell 7, sank to the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean after splashdown of his completed mission on July 22, 1961.

https://i0.wp.com/www.spaceistheplace.ca/mr4photo.jpg

Wikipedia says:

“Following the splashdown of “Liberty Bell 7″, the hatch, which had explosive bolts, blew off prematurely, letting water into the capsule and into Grissom’s suit. Grissom nearly drowned but was rescued by helicopter, while the spacecraft sank in deep water. Grissom maintained he did nothing to set off the explosives to blow the hatch, and NASA officials agreed. The craft was recovered in 1999 but there was no evidence of how the hatch had been opened. However, later experience showed that the force necessary to trigger the initiator for the explosive egress system would leave a major bruise, and Grissom had no such injury.”

Recommended Reading:

Recommended Links:

Explore the Apollo 11 landing site

•July 19, 2009 • Leave a Comment

Explore the Apollo 11 landing site using NASA’s special web site allowing the viewer to pan 360 degrees standing near the LM. Key “hot spot” allow the user to zoom in and see closer images and views.

Access photo galleries, videos and audio transmissions (transcripts) too.

Explore the landing site.

https://i1.wp.com/media3.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/photo/gallery/090716/GAL-09Jul16-2316/media/PHO-09Jul16-170186.jpg

STS-127 Endeavor crew completes first walk

•July 19, 2009 • Leave a Comment

(NASA) – In a complex and choreographed activity, the crews of Endeavour and the International Space Station installed the Exposed Facility on the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency’s Kibo laboratory today, the top priority for the mission, and completed the first of five spacewalks planned.

Though plagued by communication problems, crew members Dave Wolf and Tim Kopra completed all of their primary tasks during a 5 hour, 32 minute spacewalk. STS-127 lead spacewalker Dave Wolf and the newest space station crew member Tim Kopra began the spacewalk at 12:19 p.m. EDT, when they switched their spacesuits to battery power. The spacewalk ended at 5:51 p.m.

[more]

STS-127 Day five planned activities

•July 19, 2009 • Leave a Comment

10:33 GMT (6:33 am EDT) – Endeavour / ISS Crew Wake Up
12:33 GMT (8:33 am EDT) – SSRMS Grapple & Unberth OBSS
13:48 GMT (9:48 am EDT) – SSRMS Handoff OBSS To SRMS
14:38 GMT (10:38 am EDT) – SRMS / OBSS Focused Inspection Of Endeavour TPS Begins
18:03 GMT (2:03 pm EDT) – SRMS Handoff OBSS To SSRMS
18:18 GMT (2:18 pm EDT) – OBSS Berth In Endeavour’s Payload Bay
19:38 GMT (3:38 pm EDT) – SRMS Grapple & Unberth ICC From Endeavour’s Payload Bay & Maneuvers To Handoff Position
22:08 GMT (6:08 pm EDT) – CSA PAO Event
22:28 GMT (6:28 pm EDT) – EVA #2 Procedure Review
0:58 GMT (8:58 pm EDT) – EVA #2 Campout Begins (Wolf & Marshburn)
2:03 GMT (10:03 pm EDT) – ISS Crew Sleep Begins
2:33 GMT (10:33 pm EDT) – Endeavour Crew Sleep Begins

Source: Spacefellowship